Books & Lyrics by JoAnne
where imagination rains
My Blog      My Book Reviews      My Blog Appearances      My Social Media      Writing Tips      Comment and Question Form      Twisted Love-12 true cases of love gone bad      Murder Most Foul-a detective mystery      Wicked Intentions-a paranormal anthology      The Crime of the Century-a shocking true story      Flagitious-a 4 story crime anthology      Poems About Life, Love, and Everything in Between      Bands I Follow     
        

My Book Reviews

 

          

 

Flagitious-a 4 crime/mystery anthology

 

 

Review:

This anthology was wonderful. Each and every story was interesting and I read it in one day. Every story was different; the one thing they had in common was crime of one kind or another. I recommend this book, it was never boring.

Reviewed by Linda Tonas January 2015Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team in January 2015

Amazon Kindle:

http://www.amazon.com/Flagitious-JoAnne-Myers-ebook/dp/B00NOZCUPG/ref=sr_1_2_twi_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1416876867&sr=8-2&keywords=flagitious

Paperback:

http://www.lulu.com/shop/joanne-myers/flagitious/paperback/product-21812982.html

                                                      ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

Loves, Myths, and Monsters-11 fantasy tales entwined within the human world

5***** for “Loves, Myths, and Monsters” a fantasy anthology April 2014

Review: This was a very worthwhile book and it was very diverse. The stories ranged from romance to myths, legends and monsters both human and nonhuman.

Reviewed by: Linda Tonis Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Welcome to Anna: 5*****Stars

There are quite a few surprises in this story that I did not expect. Definitely a story worth reading.

The Hunter's Bride: 2.5**'Stars

I enjoyed the story up until the end, when it became confusing. The ending came very fast and there just wasn't enough explanation to what occurred. There should have been more, and I felt a little let down.

Moon People: 4****Stars

This was an interesting tale since it is the first time that I ever read where mermaids eat humans, but then again anything is possible in the world of myths and legends.

The Pack: 3.5***'Stars

 My only problem with this story was that Drenda fell in love with Drake even after finding out what he actually is within a day or two of meeting him. I know lycans can fall in love right away when they find their mates, but a human should take a little longer. There is of course, fighting, betrayals, and death, but then again we are talking about werewolves.

The Bidding: 5*****Stars

This was a very suspenseful story and had a very interesting ending.

The Agreement: 5*****Stars

This was quite an interesting tale.

For the Love Of Ginnie: 2**Stars

I found this story to be so long and drawn out, I had to jump to the end. The story was long and wound up pointless. The only positive was that I learned a lot about the time period.

It is Only a Myth: 4****Stars

 This was a very interesting story and had a surprise ending.

The Proposition: 4****Stars

This was a very sweet story.

The House on Shady Lane: 4****Stars

This is a monster story, only the monsters in this case are humans.  This is one sick family and what happens to them is even sicker.

Love's Curse: 3.5***'Stars

 

Wicked Intentions- 7 bones chilling paranormal tales

Reviewed May 2014 by: Linda Tonis  Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

REVIEW 5*****

This was a very interesting collection of short stories and all had a touch of the paranormal. Overall, this is a book well worth reading.

                                                 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

                                                            THE CRIME OF THE CENTURY-a shocking true story

1.  4 Star Review by Natasha Jackson for Readers' Favorite on 8-31-2014

In October of 1982, a pair of teenage sweethearts vanished into the southeastern Ohio night. Two weeks later, the bodies of Shane Shoemaker and Babette Lloyd were found dismembered in a nearby cornfield, while other parts were dumped into the Bottle Neck River. This was 'The Crime of the Century' for the citizens of Rolling Hills, Ohio, and a seemingly endless nightmare for Babette’s stepfather Richard Lloyd. JoAnne Myers does a solid job of presenting the botched investigation filled with questionable experts, unreliable witnesses and unethical police tactics. The investigation of this murder was a perfect storm of ineptitude, satanic fright and plain old prosecutorial misconduct that led to Richard Lloyd being wrongly convicted and sentenced to death.

The Crime of the Century is a sobering account that follows the disappearance and murder of Shane Shoemaker and Babette Lloyd, all the way through to the final resolution of the case. What is so astonishing is the complete lack of ethics or investigative work actually done on the case. The police started with a flawed theory of satanic worship and carved evidence around that theory until they came up with Richard Lloyd as their prime and seemingly only suspect. Dismissing key evidence, hypnotizing witnesses and withholding exculpatory evidence were just a few of the atrocities perpetuated against Lloyd who held strong on Death Row, proclaiming his innocence and appealing his conviction. JoAnne Myers paints Lloyd as a religious man who seemingly holds no ill will against anyone other than the true killers of his daughter and her fiancé. At times the writing appears stilted, but the story itself is gripping enough to withstand it.

 

2. The Crime of the Century- May 1, 2014 Reviewer Brittany Hale from BTS Magazine
 
REVIEW: 4.5 Stars
 
Written in third-person omniscient the narrator tells the story of two missing teens, their murder and the effect it has on their small town. With believable antics, ranging from police corruption, unconventional parenting, unreliable witnesses, satanic rituals, love triangles, hypnosis, forensic profiling, this novel doesn't lack in believability. The crime occurs in the 1980's without the popular DNA evidence, police have to rely on circumstancial ecidence to solve this horrific crime and bring those responsible to justice. The possible errors in previous methods of crime solving are brought to the attention of the reader, as a town is ripped apart by the disappearance of the teens. Although, I would have liked the novel to switch from a detected narration of the facts to a story where I could connect with the characterfs, it was consistent throughout the whole book. Well written and researched, The Crime of the Century, is an engrossing fictional true crime novel.
 
 
3. Goodreads author Beverley Bateman gives "The Crime of the Century" 4**** on May 2014
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
Murder Most Foul
 
 
1. BTS Magazine-December 2013 Issue 17- Reviewer Marie Haney 5 *****
 
 
Review:
 
Murder Most Foul introduces us to Walker Harmon, an FBI Agent that's sent out to solve gruesome crimes. In his line of work, blood and gore are the norm, and encountering dangerous individuals and gangs isnt unheard of. But what makes this book so uniquely brilliant is that all the crimes he's set out to solve are based on true crimes in the state of Ohio. The author recreates the scenes with dramatic fashion, adding characters that are so realistic; it feels like you're living the moment right along with them. She is a wonderful storyteller, paying attention to every intricate detail and leaving you hanging onto every word. If you're a fan of crime thrillers, this book will definately not disappoint!
 
 
2. Goodreads author James gives "Murder Most Foul" 5***** on March 2013
 
Review:  What can I say about this book?  I absolutley loved it. It is one of those books that when you start it is very hard to put down. Everything is very descriptive and exciting it will always keep your interest peaked for more. Maybe the only way it could be better for me is reading it aloud to others around a campfire. It is a wonderfuil read. Well done JoAnne Myers, well done.
 
3. Goodreads author Emily Capeles gives "Murder Most Foul" 4 **** on June 2013
 

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~                                   

Reviews for "Twisted Love" 12 cases of love gone bad

 

 

4****Stars

 

Anthology: Twisted Love

Author: JoAnne Myers

Publisher: Black Rose Writing

Genre: True Crime

Rating: Adult Themes/Violent

 

This book was a surprise for me since I don’t know what I was expecting. However, it was not a collection of gruesome murders committed by people who at some time had professed love for the person they killed. This is like reading the ID channel if you have ever watched it. I had actually seen reenactments of a couple of these murders but not all 12.  It is hard to review this type book since it is a retelling of actual events and details you might not have ever read or heard of otherwise but it is tragic and horrible. Without giving any details of the stories just let me say that they are told very well, the details and court proceedings are perhaps overly detailed in some places, but it is almost police blotter in other places. I am giving it 4 Stars for the stories that you really don’t want to know about and can’t stop reading about at the same time. The sad fact is these cases share a common thread of the last face the victim sees is someone they once loved or professed love for them. The depravity of some of these stories is horrible beyond words. You wish it was fiction but these are stories are, unfortunately, real life. How anyone could commit these acts on someone they once loved is beyond my comprehension, Twisted Love, indeed. This stuff may give me nightmares.

 Reviewed by: Douglas C. Meeks on November 2014

Member of the Paranormal Romance Guild Review Team

*  *  *  *  *

4 Star Review by Anne-Marie Reynolds for Readers' Favorite 8-31-2014

Twisted Love – 12 Cases of Love Gone Bad by JoAnne Myers is a collection of chilling tales, true crimes from Ohio and other states. The last person that most murder victims see is someone they know. In all twelve cases, each victim’s life was taken by a familiar face. Meet Autumn, murdered so her ex-husband doesn’t have to support his children; the two people who trawl Craigslist searching for unsuspecting victims; the 4-year-old murdered by the quintessential evil stepmother; the 13-year-old who was raped and murdered and whose killer was not brought to trial for 16 years. All of these and more besides will have you shuddering at the evil that exists, wondering what lies within these people to make them commit such violent crimes. Follow each story as it tells you how, when, and why the crime was committed and follow the trials that send these criminals to where they belong.

Twisted Love – 12 Cases of Love Gone Bad by JoAnne Myers was a good book. I enjoy true crime stories anyway and these were good examples. The only thing I didn’t like was the way some of the stories seemed to be a little too long, perhaps a bit too much description. However, it is important for people to understand what went on and what makes these people do what they did and how they were brought to pay for their crimes. Good book, nice choice of stories included and several that really will make you cringe.

*   *   *   *

  Loves, Myths, and Monsters-a fantasy anthology

 

Release Date: March 25, 2014                                                                                                     ISBN: 10: 1612358160

Publisher: Melange Books                                                                                                         ISBN: 13: 978-1612358161

Pages: 278                                                                                                                  Formats: Paperback, Nook, Kindle, Ebook, PDF

Sold at Melange Books, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble                                                                    HTML, EPUB,

 

 

Blurbs for Loves, Myths and Monsters: a fantasy anthology starring the Chupracabra, the Mothman, Mermaids, reincarnation, time travel, a demonic cellmate, Werewolves, an Egyptian love curse, a Quaker love story, circa 1700's, and a serial killer family, circa 1873

Welcome To Anna
Little does 17 year old Zoe, realize, but the Chupracabra followed her to Ohio from South America. What happens next is a series of chilling mysteries, and unsuspecting friendships and love.

The Hunter's Bride
When all game warden Daren Abram, had to worry about was which lucky lady to woo, he comes to the realization that his town is being stalked by the reincarnation of the town's legend.

Moon People
For teenage mermaid Constance, coming to the quaint seaside town of Willowick, is heavenly, until she falls for mortal boy Drake. For the town to survive, Constance is forced to choose between her kind and the boy and town she loves.

The Pack
When young Lycan Sonny Red Blanket, a Shawnee Indian falls for mortal girl Drenda Way, he must save her from his fellow Lycan's and stop a werewolf uprising.

The Bidding
Apiologist 34-year-old Duncan McPherson goes to Circleville, Ohio, to investigate a series of mysterious bee attacks. What is uncovered proves to be more dark and sinister then anyone imaged.

The Agreement
Incarcerated in the abandoned Roseville jail, is the last thing rich college student and speeder Brice Conrad, needs. With an "agreement" between the town and a permanent demonic "guest", only the unfortunate ones know the truth, but do not live to tell.

For The Love Of Ginnie
Handsome bachelor and Scientist Alex Anderson from the thirtieth century, returns to the Civil War with time serum to save his beloved Ginnie Wade from a snipers bullet, while finding a roller coaster ride of joy and perils.

Is It Only A Myth?
When 32-year-old Vinton County Sheriff, James "Jim" Connors, discovers he has a Mothman hunting in his county, he stops at nothing to save his citizens.

The Proposition
The rough and ready cowboy John Queenie gets the shock of his life, when the ad to break a "wild filly" turns out to be a fiery Quaker girl named Tess. This is a story proving love conquers all.

The House On Shady Lane
A seemingly loving family turns out to be serial killers in 1873.

Love's Curse
When an Egypt love curse scroll is stolen from a Dean's office, persons begin dying in bizarre and grisly ways, with the college's mascot a Viking King statue jokingly blamed for it.

Excerpt from "For the Love of Ginnie"

I don’t know why I wanted to save the life of a person I never met. Maybe it was because I was tired of bachelorhood. Maybe it was because I was a chemist and the unusual, and unexplained, fascinated me. Or, maybe, it was because I was obsessed with this twenty-year-old, dark-haired beauty named Mary Virginia “Ginnie” Wade I had read about.

These questions filtered through my mind as I drove to the bar to meet my best friend Will.

Will’s favorite hangout was “The Bling,” originally an old truck stop on State Route 93, in Nelsonville, Ohio. The place became a restaurant/lounge/dance hall and brothel when semis no longer became a necessity for long distance hauling. The invention of the transporter also replaced many other primitive jobs such as mail delivery and travel. “The Bling” was best known for the large flashing lights suggesting scantily clad women in seductive positions above the front entrance, and its “bulldogs,” monster-sized bouncers in Armani suits who patrolled its two-block perimeter, inside and out.

“The Bling,” just another joint with a sleazy atmosphere, like all alcohol-serving establishments, differed only in that it catered exclusively to class “A” clientele. Politely—or maybe not so politely—everyone called it the “Whorehouse for the rich and bored.” Its reputation grew. Its income grew even faster.

I pulled up in front and exited my vintage DeLorian, tossing the keys to the baby-faced valet, by-passed the doorman with no questions asked. Just an exchange of large smiles between us. Will was also part-owner.

As I entered the twenty-four carat gold, electronic doors, Will immediately spotted me and motioned me toward the bar with his diamond embellished hand.

I loved sitting at the bar. It was the perfect place to see the shows. “Two double scotches and water,” Will said, as we shook hands, and I slid into my seat beside him, just as the tall, leggy waitress produced the drinks in an instant.

I immediately recognized the “girl” as one of the latest “do-everything-like-a-wife” robotics. Robot manufacturing had become a booming business since the last war destroyed the immune and reproductive systems in most humans, especially females.

“I don’t know why you waste your time flirting with non-humans,” I said, cautiously sipping my drink. The immense emptiness of not being able to acquire a wife and soul mate, I felt at this age in my life, almost drove me to alcoholism, but my boss and mentor, Doctor Obar Gabry, intervened, saving my life and promising career.

“Because, dear friend,” Will began, “beggars can’t be choosey, and ladies are in scarce supply. Beside, these ‘girls’ are all pink inside.”

Ugh!” I said, gulping down a large swallow of alcohol as if it could wash away my friend’s vile mental picture from my mind.

“Come on, Alex, loosen up. Live a little.” Will motioned to the waitress for another round of drinks. “You’re alive, so act like it. Don’t let your beautiful mind go to waste. This world needs people like you. People started treating me like a god once I became an entrepreneur, and I love it.”

I had to laugh. Maybe my self-pity stage had outlived its use. Only I can find a wife for myself. I certainly won’t ask Will to hook me up. His sense of values are as artificial as the women he beds.

The pain and loneliness I felt at times from yearning for a life-long partner and family wasn’t easy to accomplish. Scientific and Medical technology still could not reverse the sterilization effects on the female species.

Sure there were some human women to date. But most were either sterile, too old, too young, or there was just no chemistry between the two of us. I wanted that spark that unites between two people madly in love...like my parents. I never met any couple happier with one another then my beloved parents. That’s the kind of love I want…never ending.

The emptiness and frustration of not finding companionship at times made me want to die. But that was the loneliness talking. I know that now. I love life. I want to live, and I know who I want for a wife. It’s just that meeting her would be a little tricky.

Abruptly, I asked, “What do you think about time travel?”

“Are you serious?” Will asked. “Scientists have tried to conquer time travel for hundreds of years, and failed.”

“Maybe they failed because they weren’t Doctor Gabry and me.”

Will looked at me in awe. “Oh, my god, you’re serious!”

“We discovered something today in the lab,” I said, giving him an arrogant smile. “We believe this is the answer.”

“So who is to be the Guinea pig?”

“Me.”

Silence came from Will, then a gasp. “That could be suicide.”

“Or the biggest discovery of the thirtieth century.”

Available in:

EBOOKS
PDF - Add to Cart
HTML - Add to Cart
EPUB - Add to Cart
Amazon Kindle

MELANGE IN PRINT AND EBOOK:

http://www.melange-books.com/authors/joannemyers/LMM.html

LULU in print

http://www.lulu.com/shop/joanne-myers/loves-myths-and-monsters/paperback/product-21546632.html

AMAZON KINDLE STORE

http://www.amazon.com/Loves-Myths-Monsters-Collection-Urban-ebook/dp/B00JL3J4P4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1397151617&sr=1-1&keywords=Loves%2C+Myths+and+Monsters

 

JoAnne’s Blog:
http://joannemyers.blogspot.com
 

LinkedIn:
http://linkedin.com/pub/joanne-myers/59/7a4/332

 
 
                   





© TTWS